Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can I negotiate this salary?
June 29, 2012 1:54 PM   Subscribe

I worked as a junior accountant in nyc for a year and had a salary of $37,500. I'm going for an interview at another company and want to negotiate a salary to my advantage. I'm looking at 48-50K. Would you say this is doable? Should I shoot for higher? 52K? I have knowledge of a particular software they are using. I have no idea what they have in mind.
posted by flowers103 to Work & Money (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

In general, I would advise against bringing up salary in an interview - it can make you look like you're interested in the money, not the opportunity.

If they ask what you're looking for, something along the lines of, "I'm sure that if you decide I'm the right candidate, you'll have a fair compensation package - I'm more interested in making sure we're the right fit for each other" or something along those lines.

Do your absolute best to make them come up with a number first - if it's higher than you were looking for, great! If not, you can go with either "I'm sorry, that's lower than I need to make this move", or if you really feel pressured to state a number, just say, "I'd really love to take this opportunity, but I need at least $XXk to be able to - is that something we can come to agreement on?"

Bear in mind that if they offer $40k and you ask for $52k, that's unlikely to fly. Mostly places will have $2-$5k in wiggle room (the wiggle room increases the higher up the ladder the job is).

Finally, I would encourage you to look at total compensation - insurance, vacation, retirement, etc. It's often much easier to get a company to throw in an extra week of vacation, or front-load you with a week instead of making you wait 6 months or something - than it is to get extra money.
posted by dotgirl at 2:11 PM on June 29, 2012 [2 favorites]