Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Preparing for a Possible HIV-Positive Result?
June 20, 2012 11:16 PM   Subscribe

Preparing for a Possible HIV-Positive Result?

Hi everyone,

So this question isn't going to be one of my usual rants about how unfair the world of dating is. I have a more pressing concern. I was last tested for HIV and other STD's on January 12th at NYC's public health clinic and was negative. This was both the antibody test and the new test which looks directly for the virus (but doesn't generate false positives as often as PCR etc.) But because of my depression and low self-esteem I developed an alcohol abuse problem. I plan to seek counseling for this as soon as I get home; I've already stopped drinking and plan to stay sober for good. Right now, I'm overseas with no access to HIV testing, but will be getting tested when I return to the US in a couple of weeks.

I am very worried that my test may be positive. I am not a promiscuous guy in general, but I'm gay and so belong to a high-risk group. I've combed through my calendar since January. I made it home alone in one piece each weekend, but there are two nights which are troubling. On February 11th, I went out with a friend to a gay club in Williamsburg, Brooklyn and got way too drunk. I was fine for most of the night. But at around 3.30 AM I remember texting my friend and some other people (mostly incoherently) outside the club and calling him several times. At some point, I gave up and left. I remember nothing after that and woke up in my apartment in Manhattan with my coat, wallet, keys, and phone in my possession. I immediately wondered, "I have all my stuff and feel fine, but how the hell did I get home?" I saw in my online banking account that I paid $6.70 for a cab at 4.45 AM. I didn't feel any pain, discomfort, or soreness anywhere and figured that I probably took the subway from Brooklyn for most of the way back to mid-town Manhattan and then, at some point, hailed a