Join 3,411 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

nice work--can I just take that from you? k-thx-bye
June 14, 2012 9:42 AM   Subscribe

I have a really interesting idea for a web app that I've been kicking around for a while. Today I discovered a site that implements some of the core functionality, but seems to be a low-priority side project for the developer. I'm thinking about asking if he wants to work together. Good idea?

I'm not a programmer. I have a lot of domain knowledge and contacts in the area, a strong user experience concept, self-taught front-end production skills, and the drive and enthusiasm to launch this as a real product.

The developer is a Ruby on Rails pro who has a day job at a well-known social site. The hobby site is well-designed and functional, but maybe a little too minimal to be of much use. It needs a few more key features and some attention to UX to really have a chance of going anywhere. It also hasn't gotten much uptake or notice since launching last fall.

My husband is a RoR developer and has said that he will work with me on this project, but there's a limit to how much time he can put in. Rather than knocking ourselves out to create a MVP that's more or less a clone of this guy's hobby site, I'd like to approach him about working together.

I could see either partnering with him on a long-term basis or, if he's bored with it, him handing over the code and Mr. Libraryhead picking up where he left off. Ideally we could compensate him somehow, but buying the site for anything more than token money is not really an option. For this to make sense for me, I'd need to have quite a bit of say in the future development of the project. I'm open to collaboration, but if I can't expand it in the ways I have in mind, I'd rather make it from scratch.