Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How seriously should I take him?
June 7, 2012 1:20 PM   Subscribe

How seriously should I take his repeated suggestions that I move to his town?

Background: I'm a recent graduate (23/F) and ready to relocate for my first real job! My particular field allows me to consider pretty much any major international city for a job, so I've been happily considering my options, and visiting a couple of cities to see for myself before I actually make the move.

The guy (26) in question is an acquaintance I've known for 3 years (we went to the same school), and right off the bat we were never just friends because we flirted and made out 2 months into knowing each other, right before he moved out of town for a job. Since the move though, we have been keeping in touch and the nature of our correspondence has always been flirtatious. Anyway, 3 months ago we were IMing when he found that I was looking into places to relocate to, and since then had been encouraging that I consider the city he's in. He even went as far as offering to put a good word in for me at his office, which I was interested in (we have the same profession). Up until that point I had dismissed our conversations as fun flirty banter (since he was famous for being quite the sexual animal back in college), but the potential of working in a fun town with relatively good job prospect, a good solid group of people I already know AND the possibility of hooking up with him got my attention. So recently I flew over to visit and stayed with him for a week to see the city for myself, and...yep you guessed it, it was a even better time than I had expected!