Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Promotion potential?
May 29, 2012 7:00 AM   Subscribe

How do I figure out who is getting a promotion at work?

I work as an attorney in a state prosecutor office. I hear rumors that a budget increase is on the horizon which could create a new senior attorney position. I want that job.

The problem is that I’m not uniquely qualified for this promotion and there are several colleagues who have been at this office longer. We all have the same years of experience, but I just recently started at this office.

However, when I interviewed for my current job, I raised a concern that I would be starting over here and my boss assured me that he promotes based on performance, not seniority. I was assured that if I proved myself, I could get the higher level position if one opened up.

The only problem is that I have no accurate method of gauging how well I’m doing. I mean, I’m on friendly terms with my supervisor, co-workers, judges and defense attorneys. But so is everyone else.

I have no way of knowing how well I'm doing because there are no performance reviews in this office and the only feedback traditionally given is negative. My coworkers subscribe to the belief that “no news is good news”. I haven’t screwed anything up, but neither have they.

Is it possible to figure out how well I’m doing here? How do I go about getting my supervisor to do a performance review when they say they don’t do them? Or am I looking for the information in the wrong place?

I need to know where I stand on this promotion because I have some other job opportunities that are coming up, but none as good as what this promotion promises. At the same time, I don’t want to forgo those outside opportunities if this job is a dead end.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite