Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

New, [unsusual()?] career choices.
May 17, 2012 5:27 AM   Subscribe

I am a Systems Engineer. I work with models and simulations and do a lot of work with Excel and Bespoke modelling tools and massive massive piles of data. I'm pretty good at it, most of the time. But, what else could I do (preferably in or near London) ?

I've been thinking about moving not just jobs, but entire careers. But the problem is that I don't really know what I could do and what I couldn't.
Do you have any ideas of interesting jobs that people do? Jobs which don't neccessarily involve a big company and on office (I am really fed up of corporate meetings/annual reviews/etc). Jobs involving maybe building something? Or doing something kinda cool.
I really am not sure even what to ask, let alone where to look.
Where should I go for ideas, inspiration, contacts?
posted by Just this guy, y'know to Work & Money (3 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

This is my standard suggestion for people looking to change careers, and not sure what they want to do. (You might find the rest of that thread useful too.)

You don't want to get too hung up on "I really know Excel, what can I do with that?" That way of thinking leads to another career doing a slightly different version of what you're doing now.
posted by philipy at 9:44 AM on May 17, 2012 [1 favorite]