Skip

I'm just like Yahoo's ex-CEO.
May 14, 2012 8:28 AM   Subscribe

I have attended college but did not graduate. I just told an interviewer that I did. What should I do?

The job is for a data entry position. Like all office jobs, it states that it requires a degree. I chose to ignore this because I fit all of the other specifications. I wrote on my resume that I attended a school during a span of years, but did not say that I graduated.

When I got the call back for a phone interview, I figured they saw that and it wasn't a dealbreaker. However, when they asked me if I had graduated in the last year I got the "deer in the headlights" reaction and said yes.

I have freelance work in addition to this, so I am not that worried about this job becoming a resume stain in case I work there for a while and then am exposed as a fraud. I just want to have a gig with benefits.

Also, this was a job referral from someone I know. Not a close friend, but I'd rather they not have to take any heat from my actions.

So, what do I do? Do I email the person I spoke with? Do I hand-wave it in a subsequent interview? Do I say nothing and stick to my story? How do I finesse this?
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (17 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

If it were me, I would email the person that you spoke with and just state what you did here (I was nervous and said yes, but upon reflection of the question after the interview, no). It comes across as honest now rather than waiting.

I've known people who wait until there is a review of their background and then it came out and was humiliating for that person and the offer was retracted (Do you want to risk the person that referred you to find out about this?)

There are people without college degrees who get great jobs, even ones that list a college degree as a requirement. Just be honest.Show them with your background and job skills that you can do this.
posted by Wolfster at 8:37 AM on May 14, 2012 [9 favorites]