Join 3,562 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Light jacket style, suggestions for styles asked for
May 11, 2012 10:14 PM   Subscribe

Fringe S04E22; William Bell's (Leonard Nimoy) jacket. Recommend anything similar that is purchasable online?

I've been using a dark grey rough-ish spun cotton dress shirt from Mantique as a light "jacket." It's far past falling apart and I look like I collect empty beverage containers for a living, yet I still keep wearing it.

Similar texture to the jacket that William Bell/Leonard Nimoy wore in the recent Fringe episode (poor vidcap) but much less shiny.

I'm looking for something like that (the piece worn by Nimoy) to use as a light late-spring/summer jacket (I think I like the shiny but can it be pulled off?). I really like how the collar and shoulder are cut, but would prefer straighter (less puffy) sleeves.

In general, is there a "type" or "style" or dress shirt that's ok to double as an outer layer for a tshirt or tank, for a guy?

Is there a term for that kind of clothing? Thickness like a winter dress shirt but cut like a sport coat/blazer/suit-top? (?) Is this an "ok" style or is it really tired already?
posted by porpoise to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (9 answers total)

Bonus: the sleeves can be rolled up.

(Please inform me if I'm inappropriately direly stuck in the '80s fashion wise.)
posted by porpoise at 10:17 PM on May 11, 2012

Your link doesn't work.
posted by Sidhedevil at 10:59 PM on May 11, 2012

Some (not me, just looking out for my fellow Fringe Divisioners abroad) might consider the text above the jump spoilery.
posted by obiwanwasabi at 1:04 AM on May 12, 2012

Here's a picture of the top part.
posted by bluefly at 4:59 AM on May 12, 2012