Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Unexpected changes in perception after eye surgery. What's going on?
May 9, 2012 7:19 AM   Subscribe

Unexpected changes in perception after eye surgery. What's going on?

I recently had surgery for strabismus (lazy eye) to correct the eye position.

One week later, I am still healing, but I think the eye alignment is quite good now. However, there have been some unexpected changes in my perception that are disconcerting:

- My balance has been thrown off. More than once I have almost fallen, and I tend to walk like I am tipsy now. It was previously not great (probably due to strabismus), but good enough. I am in my 40s, but my balance now feels like someone in their 80s.
- My sense of position in space has been altered. As a driver, I normally have an excellent idea of where the car is in space, e.g., I can parallel park in very tight spaces, usually first try. Yesterday when pulling over to the side of the road I ran right into the curb rather than pulling up about 6 inches from it like I normally would. Today when I pulled in the driveway, I ended up about 16" to the right of where I expected to be and I usually get it within 2 or 3 inches.
- A lesser effect is that computer screens now seem brighter and almost 3D.

I realize I should probably not drive any more under the circumstances, so I am stopping. I also will be availing myself of the medical profession (i.e., eye surgeon, physio, whatever else makes sense) for as much help as I can get, but it may be some time before I can see someone.

My questions are:

1) Has anyone experienced this before?
2) Is this to be expected from this type of surgery? The surgeon gave me no warning of these as possible outcomes for what is essentially cosmetic surgery that I had no urgent need of having.