Join 3,440 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help Me Navigate and Not Screw Up this Budding Online Relationship
April 26, 2012 9:26 AM   Subscribe

I've been talking to a guy online for 4 months. He's cute and seems like a decent, fun guy w/ a full life and lots of friends. We've exchanged a lot of info/flirted through email, but nothing too deep. At first he took great interest in me - emailing me with open ended questions, always asking how I was doing and replying a day or two later. I went away for 2 weeks and he said he'd miss me, etc. Because of how silly I was with the guy I liked before him I was trying to manage my expectations ("nothing could come of it and it'd be okay!" I told myself) and play things cool by only reciprocating what he gave me, but recently we've hit a snag...

3 weeks ago I mentioned an event coming up in passing and he asked me outright if I wanted to go with him. Finally! I said yes and made a joke. He responded saying fantastic and commented on the joke w/ one of his own. I felt like his reply was curt and should have included details about the date so I decided to not say anything else. 2 weeks passed and the event was leaving town. He came online the last day of the event but didn't write me. I still hadn't written him either.

I broke my own rule (sort of) by emailing him a short message pointing to a link I thought he would enjoy. I say sort of because technically I had never responded. He answered right away saying how much he liked the link and made a comment. No mention of our missed date! I replied and it took him 8 days to finally reply to me, today! A light, short message/joke unrelated to our date; no open ended question, no asking how I've been!