Join 3,552 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Do I stay or do I go (to a new company)
April 26, 2012 6:50 AM   Subscribe

I've been offered a position at another company. Should I leave my current comfortable job at a lowly-regarded company for a scary new one at a more well-respected company? Will you help me weigh the pros and cons?

I have been working at a very small company for the past 2 years since graduating college - we have shrunk from about 35 to 25 employees since I started there due to a mix of layoffs and people jumping ship. People are generally unhappy there, though I personally am quite comfortable. We have also lost a good portion of our business since I started. Sounds pretty shitty right?

I've been offered a job at another company in town that is bigger (about 100 employees) where I would work on a large, nationally recognized client. The larger company is an all around better and more highly respected company (locally, at least) - they win more awards and do better work. Sounds awesome right?

There are pros and cons to both companies that are truly tearing me up. They are:

Small, shrinking company:

- They pay me awesomely, especially for someone with only 2 years experience in a traditionally low-paying industry
- They treat me really well and respect my opinions
- They understand that I am still learning, and while business might be down, my supervisor is smart and awesome and patient. She is supportive, extremely experienced, and answers all of my questions
- Despite layoffs and losing business, they have assured me that I have job security there (the CEO personally told me in private that he appreciates my work and wishes to see me grow with the company) - I feel inclined to believe them

The larger, awesome, well respected company (I've asked around and gotten "the dirt"):