Join 3,414 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Organic chemistry reaction/reagent database for a student?
April 21, 2012 7:58 PM   Subscribe

I'm studying for my organic chemistry I final exam and I'm looking for some sort of searchable database of reactions and reagents to help me solve problems.

For example, right now I am stuck because I can't figure out how a 6 carbon molecule with an epoxide ring on one end and a double bond on the other end will react when treated with NaOEt and EtOH at 60 degrees Celsius. (Next it's treated with TsCl/pyradine and then NaCN/DMF and I have a faint idea that I'm going to be able to deal with that.) I've been searching through my textbook and tried googling it but the google results were too chemically complicated for me to extract any useful info.

Does anybody know of a resource to help me find this kind of info?

Bonus points if you can expand on what my professor said on the last day of class: that to figure out most syntheses, you should look at the target molecule, decide what's been added, and then decide if these functional groups have been added as an electrophile or a nucleophile.

This seems very sensible to me, but my first problem is that I'm getting confused about identifying nucleophiles from electrophiles. And my second problem is well, how on earth do I condense all these different reactions I've learned into just "adding as an electrophile or a nucleophile"??
posted by sunnichka to Science & Nature (12 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Does your school library have access to the Reaxys database?
posted by jenny76 at 8:01 PM on April 21, 2012

Yes! It is pretty overwhelmingly complicated at first glance though.
posted by sunnichka at 8:18 PM on April 21, 2012

Ha, I loved organic chem (although it's hard hard hard).

Anyway, these two sites might help you out:

http://www.chem.ucalgary.ca/courses/351/Carey5th/Carey.html