Join 3,436 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

AIO that prints and scans both sides
April 11, 2012 7:10 PM   Subscribe

Duplex-scanning colour AIO: Epson WorkForce WF-7520, Canon PIXMA MX892, or ... ?

Would like to replace a rather cranky HP PhotoSmart with something a bit more spiff. Must have: colour, duplex printing, network, duplex scan. Will not be doing a huge volume of printing. Scanning documents using the ADF for archiving is important (though I could just be trying to get the functionality of a ScanSnap on the cheap).
posted by scruss to Computers & Internet (6 answers total)

FWIW I've had the PIXMA MX870 for a while now, purchased on sale at Costco, and have been happy with it. I use the ADF for faxing and scanning, duplex for the latter. I have it connected to my network and everyone prints on it (Windows and Mac machines in our house). I print some family photos at my wife's request on 5x7, and labels for envelopes. But I am not an expert on AIO printers, so take my advice with a grain of salt.
posted by forthright at 8:13 PM on April 11, 2012

I have a canon MF 8300 series (exact model # is at home, so I'm looking at the driver info on my laptop).

The only part I'm not sure about is duplex scanning. (I assume you mean you put a 2-sided document in the feeder, and it scans both sides ?). Otherwise, it does everything you want. It was $450, and I'm VERY happy with it.
posted by k5.user at 8:20 AM on April 12, 2012

> duplex scanning. (I assume you mean you put a 2-sided document in the feeder, and it scans both sides ?).

Yes, that's what I meant, thanks.

The Workforce is on an outrageous deal at the moment, but I was badly burned by Epson's C60/C80 cartridge scam (and just missed the class action payment, drat).
posted by scruss at 9:19 AM on April 12, 2012

OK, after checking, our canon doesn't do that. Sorry. (MFP 8350 cdn).
posted by k5.user at 12:17 PM on April 12, 2012

Thanks. I ordered the Workforce. I'll follow up once it arrives.