Join 3,421 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Will working from home hurt me in the long run?
April 8, 2012 5:28 PM   Subscribe

I've been offered a home-based support position with a certain fruit-centric tech company we all know. Some aspects of working from home are appealing, but I'm concerned about potential limitations for advancement, as my goal is to remain at said company and move up the ladder. Should I hold out for an office-based position or jump at the chance to work for them now?

To be clear, the position is with the company itself, not a third party, and comes with full benefits. The money is OK considering I have a liberal arts degree and won't have to pay for gas, but I would need to be making more within 1-2 years. I've applied for a few other positions with the company, but this is the first one I've been interviewed for. However, given that I have other support experience, I think the chances are decent that I would eventually be hired for a non-virtual support position.

So, is working from home likely to make it more difficult to advance within the company?

And, would it look bad for me to turn down this offer, even if I explain my reasoning? That is, would the company be less likely to consider me for other positions?
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Working from home makes it more difficult to advance in a company than working for them in an office environment.

However, working from home makes it about a kabillion times easier to advance in a company than not working for them at all, as long as you actively continue to pursue other opportunities internally.
posted by jacquilynne at 5:52 PM on April 8, 2012 [12 favorites]

@jacquilynne has it right: ...working from home makes it about a kabillion times easier to advance in a company than not working for them at all...

Someone smarter than I said about the resume: