Join 3,501 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Covering the uncoverable
April 4, 2012 6:32 AM   Subscribe

Health insurance quagmire (NYC based) A year and a half ago for the first time in my life I got health insurance. It wasn't an easy process, as I am a small business owner, and it was difficult to find a policy that my employment status (I was categorized as self employed for this policy) made me eligible for. All was fine until last November, when I made a late payment. I thought I had put my payments on auto pay on my online banking, but apparently I messed up the process along the way and the payment didn't go out.

When I caught the error, I sent in the payment. I also sent in the next three months payments as they became due. In the beginning of March, I received a check from the insurance company refunding me the last few months premiums. I also started receiving phone calls from the hospital where I received care for my ongoing medical condition in December informing me that I had outstanding balances.
When I called the insurance company, they informed me that my insurance had been cancelled on November 30, and because it was beyond the reinstatement period of 63 days, I would not be eligible for the group policy for one year from the date of cancellation and would need to get an individual policy. They told me that they had sent out a letter informing me of the pending cancellation in mid-November (which I swear I had never received) and that despite them cashing my checks every month afterward, in order to have the policy re-instated I needed to call them and specifically request a reinstatement.