Stuck In between a Chorus and a Hard Place!
April 3, 2012 7:41 PM   Subscribe

Im writing a song right now on my acoustic guitar, my first song, and I'm a little stuck, I've got some good chord progressions, I know my key (C) I just dont know where to go from there

All my progressions sound like choruses (lol), if your a guitar player, you can play these (im in drop C on my acoustic btw)

Dm7th-Am-Em-Fmaj7th x4

Dm9th-Fmaj9th (open e)- C maj (no middle finger)-Cmaj9 x4

Am-Cmaj-Em-Fmaj7th x3
Am-Em-Cmaj-Fmaj7th x1

I've been playing for like 4 years now, and i can link all of them together nicely, i dont know how to put lyrics in the song. I can write poetry, fairly ok, but Idk how to put it all together in a nice big casserole of a song. Maybe if someone could give me some pointers, or some lines to jumpstart me, that would be great... All is appreciated! :D
posted by sizzil34 to Media & Arts (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

My strategy is to just sit there grooving on the repeated chorus or verse structure over and over, for an hour if necessary, and begin improvising vocals just using a "la la" syllable. Eventually I hear things I like and keep those, and gradually some of those develop into words that make sense. Once you have about a quarter or a third of the main chorus and a verse or so written, you're kind of there, and from there I generally find it transitions into actual pen-and-paper writing to fill out the rest of the lyrics.

But what I've learned talking to musicians over the years is that there are several different strategies, none right or wrong. Some people write a lyric and build music around that. Neither variety comes out better or worse. But for me, once I'm at the point you're at, where I have a solid progression and want to use it, the next step is to pair it with some general vocal direction and start to see what the song wants to say.
posted by Miko at 7:55 PM on April 3, 2012