Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Bad Laboratory Experiences
April 2, 2012 9:29 PM   Subscribe

How do I bow gracefully out of this volunteer project with a professor that just isn't working out? And should I even?

I'm a science undergraduate in second year in a combined biology/computer science program. Since January, I sought out a professor to do some volunteer work for because I felt that I needed more research experience. He put me to work on developing some test software for a biological server, which seemed really interesting to me at the time. However, as things have progressed, I've increasingly begun to have reservations as to whether I should really be continuing to volunteer with this professor.