Skip

On the hunt again!
March 29, 2012 9:16 AM   Subscribe

How is the best way to cold call companies to solicit them with your resume (and bonus, what is the best way to phrase "Inordinately useful!" as a job description when pitching self to employers)

Completely accidentally, based on my skill set I find myself with a general trend towards marketing/pr. Being laid off by my current company. I'm a college grad from Bigname Canadian university with a spunky, happy work persona and about a year and a half of generic office experience under my belt- I can smooth your spread sheet, write your training report, talk to your angry customer and sound suitably contrite, instruct your new hire on the computer system, trouble shoot when the new hire has basic computer problems, present to a group, harass your overdue bill within the limits of the law, update your webpage, fix the file corruption on your fax service, etc... I also freelance wrote, mostly SEO click bait, but delivered on demand for the deadline.

By sheer chance all of my experience are with companies doing promotions or marketing, outside initial pay-the-bills-in-college retail sales. I have an internship and a bit over a year in offices, I keep ending up on the admin side of things in marketing related call centres. I want less telephones in my life. So how do I solicit PR/marketing firms (ie those listed in the yellow pages) or other companies I might fit into in such a way to attract attention without coming across as insane/pushy past consideration and what hook should I be using to sell myself? What's the corporate vocabulary I should use? Further advice?
posted by Phalene to Work & Money (9 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite