Join 3,496 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How could I convince you that I'd make a great financial writer
March 20, 2012 2:30 PM   Subscribe

I have a job interview for a junior/intermediate financial writer position with a financial services marketing company on Friday. This is a bit of a career jump for me as my background is mostly in legal editing with one stint at an educational publisher. Are there any MeFites with some sort of experience in financial writing who have some advice for me on how to ace the interview, or on what kind of research and prep I should be doing?

To give you a little more background, the company is a start up, three or four years old, with a roster of blue chip clients. I've spoken to a friend who has done some freelance for them as well as for a friend who is a very, very experienced and well-connected editor and gotten their advice.
posted by orange swan to Work & Money (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Finance is pretty broad. To whom is this financial services company marketing materials? My guess would be non-professional investors, like people looking to set up retirement accounts and such, though that could be completely wrong.

But, in short, knowing the audience for whom you would be writing is important. Find out as much as you can about your intended audience.
posted by dfriedman at 2:47 PM on March 20, 2012

I've been working as a contractor for a financial services company, and they've actually just asked me to move in house as the head of editorial (I would write all of their copy, including advertising collateral and quarterly updates, plus manage vendors).

I guess the question I have is, what do they want you to do?
posted by KokuRyu at 2:49 PM on March 20, 2012

Off the top of my head, though, I guess what they're going to care about might be:

• How fast can you work?
  • Can you maintain quality while meeting tight turnaround times?