Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How to choose a portfolio (book)?
March 14, 2012 7:14 PM   Subscribe

Tell me about your favorite reasonably priced portfolio brand.

I am a photography student, graduating in May. The time has come to assemble my portfolio and I'm thoroughly confused by too many options. I need to assemble 16 images that will be printed on 11x14 paper. I've looked at Lost Luggage and Portfolios and Art Cases so far. I don't want anything that looks or feels cheap but I also hope to have the cost of materials for a binder/book to ring in under $180.

Does the content of a portfolio make any difference when choosing the actual physical materials and, if so, how do I figure out how to match a portfolio to my "style"?
posted by mcbeth to Media & Arts (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know where you live, but in Toronto I went to an art supply store very near to OCAD (the big art school) and found good quality and very reasonably priced portfolio books. I can't remember the brand - they were rather generic - but they were under $10 for an 8x11 sized book and under $20 or 30 for a large 11x17 book. All of them were also archival quality - and much cheaper than the archival quality photo albums I had been looking at online.

So if possible, I would hit an art store next to an art school, and see if they had generic brand portfolios.
posted by jb at 9:05 PM on March 14, 2012

They did have black plastic covers - which might strike some as seeming cheap, but struck me more as seeming just "professional" in their utilitarianess.
posted by jb at 9:06 PM on March 14, 2012