Join 3,381 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

procrastination
March 4, 2012 7:20 PM   Subscribe

What do you do when you have been procrastinating, have a deadline to meet, and completely and totally lack motivation to do anything at all?

I'm in my last semester of law school, and I have a very heavy workload. I have several things I need to do for tomorrow. I have been putting them off all weekend. I will do my reading for class early tomorrow morning which is fine; I've been doing all my reading in the hour before class all semester. It's not ideal, but it gets done.

I also have two assignments to turn in, that will take 2-4 hours each, and they absolutely must be completed before I go to bed tonight. It's 7pm here, and I have been sitting in front of my computer procrastinating since I woke up this morning. They are easy assignments and I'm not worried about doing them poorly; this is not a perfectionism thing. I am tired and burnt out, I have too much work overall, but I just don't care anymore and I don't want to do my work, so I'm just not. doing. it.

I don't think I'm depressed but my anxiety is really really high. I'm in therapy and on anti-depressants, which were recently reduced because the FDA revised the max dose. I haven't seen my therapist for two weeks (scheduling problems), but I see her tomorrow.

Right now, I can't figure out how to get through tonight, and get my damn work done. This thread - particularly the set a timer idea - has been helpful in the past, but right now I can't even get up the motivation to set a timer and do five minutes of work.
posted by Why hello, I am a sock puppet to Human Relations (17 answers total) 55 users marked this as a favorite

Oh yeah, this. (Why do you think I'm reading Metafilter right now?)

Well, there's no way to do the work but to sit down and do it. My tips:

1. UNPLUG THE INTERNET. Seriously, turn that shit off.