Join 3,556 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Website CMS options for a religious organization?
March 3, 2012 8:44 PM   Subscribe

What's the best CMS for a busy church with a bunch of committees full of non-technical people? Are there professional website maintenance companies that deal specifically with religious organizations?

I'm one of the very few technical people in our 300-member church (UU fellowship, actually) and we're looking to replace our current website, a very cumbersome legacy Drupal system supported by one person who barely knows how it functions.

Do you have personal experience either maintaining or working with community sites? If so, what CMSes lend themselves well to this kind of organization?

Most of the end-users will be very non-technical people. I'm a capable Linux sysadmin with web experience, but I haven't looked at CMSes for large organizations, nor do I really deal with user-friendly sites, being more of a back-end process person.

We want something easy to update with new information, support for podcasts, social media integration, members-only areas, discussion forums, etc.

We're also entertaining the idea of hiring out some of the maintenance itself. Have you worked with any companies that provide services specifically for this kind of organization?
posted by odinsdream to Computers & Internet (11 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know if WordPress has all the features you need, but our organization uses it. We have a couple of technical folks tending the coals in the back end and most of us on the front end are minimally techy. It works pretty well.
posted by elizeh at 10:27 PM on March 3, 2012