Skip

Can I switch to these contact lenses?
March 1, 2012 6:19 PM   Subscribe

I'm interested in Acuvue Oasys for Presbyopia contacts after hearing good things about them. I currently wear Air Optix Night & Day and have worn Focus Dailies in the past. The question is: I noticed that the base curve and diameter for the Oasys lenses are different than the base curve/diameter I currently wear. Oasys: 8.4 / 14.3 vs. Air Optix 8.4 /13.8. I don't want to pay for an eye exam if I couldn't wear these lenses, and I really want THESE lenses. So can I wear them?

I have been wearing Air Optix Night & Day lenses for about 10 yrs. Before this, I wore Focus Dailies, and then various others I can't recall. I currently use reading glasses over my lenses when needed, and my mother told me about her lenses, Acuvue Oasys for Presbyopia, and how great they work out for her. She's familiar with the Air Optix and said I'd like these best, having tried other brands before. I am very interested in trying these lenses, but being budget conscious, I don't want to waste money for an eye exam if I wouldn't be able to wear them anyway based on the bc/dia measurements being different, even though they seem negligible to me.

Air Optix: 8.4 / 13.8
Focus Dailies: 8.6 / 13.8
Oasys for Pres: 8.4 / 14.3

I have never even paid attention to the base curve and diameter before, but when checking the lenses out online I noticed this, and then began researching what exactly bc and dia are. People, esp. on Yahoo, make it seem like you will seriously damage your eyes if you wear the wrong lenses, but there seems to be a conflict of opinion as to what constitutes a big enough difference. Of the two lenses I wore, the measurements are clearly different, and I suspect they are different for all the brands I have used to wear (but I don't recall there names to check).