Join 3,494 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

No, I do not want to purchase a widget from you. Shut up.
February 21, 2012 1:23 PM   Subscribe

At work, I get calls from salespeople. It's part of my job, but I really loathe dealing with salespeople...especially over the phone. Please help me to not be so psychotic about it.

I get calls from salespeople every. single. day.

Picking up my phone to hear "Hi, this is so-and-so from such-and-such, how are you today?" makes my shoulders tense up and my stomach churn. Sometimes they're small outfits trying to get our business. Sometimes they're businesses that we currently work with calling to tell me about "These amazing new products we have for you!". Sometimes they're people/businesses we've worked with in the past, calling to try and sell me more stuff/services. I'm new in my position, my predecessor apparently had a LOT of contacts in the field.

My phone (which is new and expensive) does not have caller ID. I wind up taking most calls that come in to me. I'm not asking about how to avoid these sales calls, I'm asking about what to do when they call.

Obviously they want to keep me on the phone as long as possible. I politely say that I am busy, they come back with "When should I call you back?" I politely say that we are not interested, they come back with "How about we call you back in three months?". They call and say that we "need to set up a meeting to discuss our such-and-such". Upon further prodding, it turns out they are not talking about the current such-and-such we have with them, they're talking about the NEW AND FANCY such-and-such they want to sell us (to replace our perfectly fine such-and-such). If they were plain old telemarketers I'd tell them to kiss my butt. However, they're industry folks (many of whom we actually do business with), and I don't want to be an asshole to them.