Join 3,572 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

I just want people to know I'm employed...
February 20, 2012 7:03 PM   Subscribe

I am starting a long term contract position and am unsure as to how to properly reflect this on my resume/LinkedIn profile - but want to be up-to-date since it's not a guarantee that the contract will go perm. How do I update my resume/profile in this circumstance? I'm new to the world of contracting.

Hi everyone. I was laid off recently and have been searching for new work and just landed a long-term contract position beginning this week. It's for several months, but as of right now they don't see it becoming permanent, though there is a possibility that could change at some point. So, I still plan on keeping my eyes and ears peeled for a permanent gig, and I want to be sure that my resume/LinkedIn presence is up-to-date as I do so. What is the protocol for how to list contract positions such as these on a resume? I'm a complete newbie to being a contract employee of this sort. This is a great company, and a fairly prestigious one at that, so I'm glad that I've stumbled into this gig even though it may turn out to be temporary since it is an impressive name to have on a resume in any capacity and the work I will be doing is directly related to what I have been doing in my career thus far.