Join 3,555 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Please lend me your cover letter expertise!
February 3, 2012 8:30 PM   Subscribe

I would like to apply for this internship, but I am uncertain of how to address some of the qualifications listed in the ad in my cover letter.

I am a recent grad applying for a copywriting internship at X company that runs websites listing online shopping deals. The ad calls for someone who is "detail-oriented" and a "skilled writer." I've got those things down, but there are a few other desired traits they're looking for that I'm not sure I necessarily possess. Here are some of the other (paraphrased) traits that I'm feeling iffy about:

Bargain Hunters – be dedicated to scouting out the best online offers, deals and savings

Web Savvy – use your enthusiasm and knowledge of the web to serve X company's users

Independent Thinkers – be able to present creative marketing ideas and willing to enhance your knowledge of online marketing and copywriting.

Originally, I was thinking of writing my cover letter in a "T-formation" format--with their desired qualities on the left, and my experiences on the right. But I don't know how to write about my experience with the above. Sure, I've been a bargain hunter (textbooks are so expensive these days!), but never in a formal workplace setting like this. Excuse my naivety, but is it inappropriate to discuss personal experiences in which you've demonstrated the company's desired qualities when you have little formal work experience involving said qualities? I could talk about my summer of frugal living after failing to find a consistently paid part-time job and how I've learned to bargain-hunt that way, but I don't know if that would just come across as unprofessional.