What do i need to travel to Canada as a US permanent resident?
January 31, 2012 9:13 AM   Subscribe

Visiting Toronto from the US as a green card holder, anything I need to know?

I am planning to visit Toronto in March (yay!). I have a valid green card and driver's license, and I have read the official page regarding visitor visas, which says I don't need a visitor visa if I am a US resident.

However, I have some questions:

Is it true it's better not to fly? Should I go by train? It's cheaper anyway, is it also less horrible when it comes to customs?

Will I need any other documentation besides a license and a green card? I have my country's passport, but it will expire like 2 weeks after the trip, should I take it anyway?. My passport is from a country that requires a visa to enter Canada, so it seems pretty useless to show it.

Can I get back into the US with just my green card? browsing forums, it looks like this could be a problem. Will I need anything else to get back in the country?

I will appreciate any tips and anecdotes. Thank you!
posted by Tarumba to Travel & Transportation around Canada (11 answers total)

As far as I know, it is now required to have a passport no matter how you enter Canada from the US and vice versa (be it via plane, train, or automobile). And most places won't let you enter on a passport that isn't valid for at least 3 months from the date of your trip, so you should definitely look into renewing your passport ASAP.

Here's a quote for you: "Identification is necessary for travel between the United States and Canada. Effective June 1, 2009 all travelers must travel with a Passport, Passport Card, Enhanced Driver's License or Enhanced ID Card (EDL/ID). Children under age 16 will be able to enter with proof of citizenship, no photo ID required.