Skip

Resistors in a circuit--does it matter much?
January 29, 2012 1:55 PM   Subscribe

Noob electronics question: Can I replace a 3Mohm 1/2 W resistor on a guitar pedal circuit with a 3.3Mohm resistor?

Or even a 3Mohm 1/4W resistor? Will this cause the circuit to not work? Does it matter that much? I'm new to DIY electronics and can't find the answer with a google search.
posted by sleepy pete to Technology (18 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Yes. Resistor values are generally very loose; it's common for carbon resistors to only be held to 20% of rated value, and in a circuit like your guitar pedal the exact value really isn't critical. You technically shouldn't downgrade the power rating, because they probably used a 1/2 watt resistor for a reason, but a good way around that is to use two 1.5m resistors in series or 6m in parallel to get the power rating. Or just put in the 1/4 watt resistor and cross your fingers. Power ratings are typically very conservative too, and the worst that's likely to happen is that the resistor might fail and you'll have to replace it again.
posted by localroger at 2:24 PM on January 29, 2012

The first part of your question isn't really answerable, unfortunately. It all depends on the rest of the circuit, and how tolerant it will be to having that resistance be less than it was designed. It might work, but it also might not - no way to tell without looking at the schematic or just trying it - with the risk of course being that with a lower resistance you might fry something else in the circuit.

The second part is also unanswerable, other than to say that in general, doing that is a bad idea. If the circuit was designed for a half-watt resistor, that means that more than likely, the designer was expecting as much as a half-watt there (in other words, volts* amps > .5), and you should replace it with one that size or bigger to prevent frying this resistor and having to start all over again.