Skip

Turn my binder collection into electronic gold!
December 30, 2011 10:05 AM   Subscribe

I want to compile and organize hard copies of recipes, craft projects, and other household things into something electronic - not particular about if local computer (Mac, OS 10.7) or cloud-based. Bonus points if accessible from multiple devices (computer, iphone, ipad, etc.). What solutions should I consider?

(Similar previous question, but not as comprehensive as I need, and previous online solutions, but looking for something offline.)

I love Pinterest, and would like to do something similar offline.

I have boxes and binders filled with recipes cut out of magazines, craft projects copied from library books, and the like. I've got the hard copy organization down (I'm a librarian, it's what I do), but would prefer to have everything in some kind of electronic, searchable format. So how do I make this happen?

I've considered:
- trying to track down internet equivalents and adding to Pinterest. The problem: time consuming, and probably would only find a fraction of everything I'd want.

- scanning everything. The problem: I don't have a scanner at home that I can use, and work scanner would result in images that would not be searchable without adding a bunch of metadata, and that seems like a lot of work for a not-great solution.

- building a database of some kind. The problem: I don't know which would be a good option to use, and need advice from those who might know (hence askMeFi) on what would tackle my problem in an efficient way.

I'm willing to put in the time and some money to do this right, but just don't know where to begin. Buy a scanner? Get some software? Type it all in to something searchable?

Anyone done something similar that worked for you? Have ideas of how to adapt known software to provide a solution?
posted by southpaw to Grab Bag (7 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Evernote. It's really handy.