Join 3,374 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me "Wow!" Santa
December 28, 2011 10:44 PM   Subscribe

What are some good resources to learn how to decorate for Christmas?

We always have a tree, and I have a few very eclectic Christmassy items. I have gathered these items slowly over the years, getting things that I thought were cute at the time. There is no cohesive theme whatsoever, and the overall effect is pretty underwhelming. I would like to create some wow factor.

I don't have a particular style or theme in mind (our regular decor is pretty minimal to begin with, so I can't build on our existing style). So that's where I would like to start, with some resources to help me define a (Christmas) style, and then learn how to implement it in our particular space.
posted by vignettist to Home & Garden (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Disclaimer here: I have no experience with holiday decorating. But I do have experience learning about things I previously knew nothing about (don't we all though?).

Anyway, two points to consider:

- You mention that you already have a collection of items, and you imply that you want to use them when decorating ,so I am assuming that you are not willing to purchase anything new

- I think the "how" depends on your learning style. For example, I don't have the patience or humility to have to someone else show me how to decorate. I prefer to learn only by reading. How do you prefer to learn? There is no right way or wrong way, but there is your way!

That being said ask yourself why is it underwhelming?
- Are the items too sparsely distributed? Maybe you need to "concentrate" your X-mas area
- Would it make sense to make things more cohesive by purchasing something to act as a focal point, and then use your items as filler? For example: