Join 3,427 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Which caliber for a medium rifle?
December 27, 2011 8:37 AM   Subscribe

I am in the market for an AR or AK-pattern rifle. I am not sold on any of the major (or minor) calibers. I am well versed with the Four Safety Rules, and even the Fifth.

I have lots of experience with 5.56 mm, .22 LR and .30 Carbine, does anyone have experience with Soviet or other calibers, and can make recommendations? I am comfortable with the M4 and M16 weapons systems, but am not totally sold on them (and would make some modifications.)

The rifle will be for three-gun and target shooting, out to ~500m. I am in the United States, but not in a particularly gun-restrictive State.
posted by the man of twists and turns to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

This is a great question to ask over at AR15.com.

[Disclaimers: I've linked you to the AR-15 board, a subsite of Greater ARFCOM. There are some knowledgeable folks over there, as well as a lot of noise, so you'll have to sift the wheat from the chaff. As with many discussion sites, personalities and politics abound, though less so on the technical boards. Within the linked forum, there are subsections for AR Variants, Build It Yourself, and other topics.]
posted by MonkeyToes at 9:08 AM on December 27, 2011

I'm not entirely clear on what you're asking? The whole point of the 7.62x39 is that it's not distance, accuracy, or velocity round, it likes to tumble and the whole platform isn't setup for that kind of use. YES--I mean, you CAN use it for that, but I'm not sure why you would when you've got so many other options out there.

If you just want to go spray some lead (which I never understood, but w/e) I'd buy a shitty SKS and modify the cartridge advance to enable automatic fire.