Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Long distance relationship fizzled out, because of distance. Do I move to salvage it?
December 25, 2011 6:30 PM   Subscribe

My relationship broke down because of the distance. Can it be salvaged, or do I just let it be?

I've been turning this over in my mind for the last six months and it has caused me a lot of pain. I'm no closer to finding a resolution to the situation or coming to terms with it. After endlessly consulting my friends who are now tired of listening to me and whom have their own problems, I put myself at the mercy of the internet and ask whether anyone with a degree of detachment could give me advice.

I was happy in a long distance relationship for 18 months. We dated growing up, together in our teens and properly  together last year. I did the majority of the travelling. This was fine with me. Things were going well, for both of us. We began to discuss moving to the same city. I was keen to do so, being stuck in a rut, careerwise and in terms of my social life. It would have been a good move for me I think. Thinking we would be living together I was initially keen. Later I realised I would be expected to live either alone or in a flatshare with someone and I began to be reluctant, as I have a comfortable living situation. I was happy to continue until we could move in together. My partner was less happy about this and found the distance difficult. I ignored warning signs.