Join 3,363 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Responding to an offer via LinkedIn
December 19, 2011 3:10 PM   Subscribe

I got an email from a recruiter at a well-known "web 2.0" company via LinkedIn. How should I respond?

The message was basically "I saw your profile; we're looking for talented people; let me know if you're interested in discussing opportunities." As far as I know, I have no connections with the guy, and the company is 1500 miles away. I'm a software engineer.

On a scale of 1 (spam) to 10 (you were highly recommended by a respected mutual acquaintance)... where does this type of email fall, and what's an appropriate follow-up?

Thanks!
posted by mpls2 to Work & Money (13 answers total)

If you're interested in working for them (or, maybe, not convinced that you don't want to work for them), just email back and say, "Sure, I'd like to hear what opportunities you have available" and set up a time to talk. It ain't no thing.

I get a lot of headhunters contacting me through LinkedIn--that's sort of what it's there for. People put out feelers like this all the time.
posted by Admiral Haddock at 3:13 PM on December 19, 2011 [1 favorite]

That's how I got my job at Google. I got a recruiter email through Linkedin. It should be easy enough to verify. Just ask to call him and if need be, get an email from someone who is definitely at the stated company.
posted by GuyZero at 3:15 PM on December 19, 2011 [3 favorites]

I second the Admiral on this. I also had a job for several years that (although not distant) came up this way. Open a discussion and then if it seems legit, and the offer(s) sound attractive to you then it's just a matter of exercising due diligence as you would for any company/offer.
posted by BigHeartedGuy at 3:20 PM on December 19, 2011