Join 3,435 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How can I find a better-than-average teaching abroad job?
December 5, 2011 6:06 PM   Subscribe

I am a special education teacher in the USA who wants to teach English abroad in Asia, then return to the States to join a doctoral program in education and continue teaching. How can I make this experience a step up in my development as an educator, rather than just an adventure?

A brief summary of my background: I am 26, and I have been a licensed middle school special education teacher in an inner city public school in the US for three years. I hold a master's degree in special education/general education, and have experience (although no special licensing) teaching to English language learners.

I'd like to spend the next two years teaching English abroad in Asia before I return to the States to join a doctoral program in special education and continue teaching children. I'm aware of some of the more fly-by-night options for teaching ESL in countries such as South Korea, but as I understand it, these types of jobs are geared more toward those with little to no teaching experience who might be looking more for adventure than professional development (feel free to correct me if I'm wrong!).

So, hive mind, how can I find a job teaching English abroad that will give back a little bit more than your average hagwon? I'd like to find something that meets one or more of the following criteria:
1. Pays more than the average teaching abroad gig
2. Acts as a resume-builder with applying to doctoral programs in mind
3. Helps me to grow as an educator, either through encounters with teaching philosophies/methods/techniques that are foreign to US-trained teachers, or through a work situation that involves special ed

I'd appreciate your opinions on the general wisdom or foolishness of this idea, as well as ideas on how I can narrow down my broad, hazy plan into some clearer options. Thanks in advance!