Skip

Help me figure out how to ask for dough
December 2, 2011 7:51 AM   Subscribe

Salary (re)negotiation 101: How can I figure out what to ask for, and what to avoid?

I'm a pretty good web professional (not a programmer). I've been at my company for a few years now and in the last 12 months or so, I've been asked to take on the management of a new department of our company. I'm considerably less good at the management part, but getting better.

It's salary negotiation time and my boss has asked me what salary number he should bring to his boss.

What tools or tactics can I use to help me come up with a number (or other compensation) for him? Also useful, what could I use to support this number? Data would be great, but even What Color Is Your Parachute-type ways to enumerate strengths would be useful.

I'd also love personal anecdotes from people who have been in a similar position.

Frankly, if what I got back was a whole thread full of comments like this one, that would be a fantastic thread.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (5 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I would start with looking at where my compensation falls according to the national averages. For example, here's what the Bureau of Labor and Statistics maintain. If you know the general compensation range inside your company for the level you'll be at in the new position, that would obviously help. You would want to factor in your location (because that drives your cost of living), your responsibilities, and your impact to the company.