Didn't register my car within 30 days, now what?
November 28, 2011 12:59 PM Subscribe
I live in Portland, OR and my grandpa in Minnesota gave me his old car which I drove out to Portland in September. Because of money issues (starting school, less work hours, etc) I did not get around to registering my car in Oregon within 30 days. I have some questions now that it's almost December and my grandpa just received a tab renewal notice in the mail.
posted by Corduroy to Law & Government (8 answers total)
Very embarrassing. I started the registration process in Minnesota, have my grandma's death certificate and my grandpa's signature. That form is dated to mid-september, along with the insurance I bought in September, too. Will I be paying some sort of fine since, as far as I can tell, it will be obvious I didn't register my car on time? I know normal registration is something like $125. Anyone know if it's a lot? It would definitely disappoint my grandpa to know I haven't registered the car, so I'm hoping to make this all legal as quickly as I can and with the least amount of stress for him.