Join 3,423 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

i am a horrible travel agent
November 14, 2011 10:04 PM   Subscribe

Help me, I am an idiot. I long ago booked an overnight trip from Seattle to Sacramento on Alaska Airlines through Expedia. I thought it was for tomorrow and Wednesday, apparently it was for today and tomorrow...

...and I only found this out after I missed my outbound flight. Assuming I've given up all hope of making it to Sacramento ever, is there any way I can get any money back? or am I totally screwed?
posted by genmonster to Travel & Transportation (12 answers total)

Call the airline and tell them you missed your flight. Apologize profusely and be ridiculously polite. Occasionally, someone will take pity on you and help you fix it somehow. Going to the airport in person may work better than doing it over the phone, if that's not a huge inconvenience, but you can sometimes find someone on the phone willing to help in whatever way they can.
posted by decathecting at 10:06 PM on November 14, 2011 [3 favorites]

decathecting- i actually did this first thing, before I realized the extent of my screwup. The people at Alaska Air were really nice about trying to get me a later flight today, but basically showing up any later would have totally negated the purpose of my trip. now i'm just trying to cut my losses and not be out $350
posted by genmonster at 10:14 PM on November 14, 2011

I think you're screwed, based on my experiences with situations like this. If you are willing to try to make it onto a later flight, you may get lucky and get to your destination, but if that won't work or you miss the entire round trip, nobody wants to give you back your money. Ultimately that flight left whether you were on it or not.

I wish you the best of luck, but I've lost this much and more in similar circumstances and I'm skeptical that airlines have gotten more lenient since then.
posted by troublesome at 10:23 PM on November 14, 2011