Join 3,377 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Help me use an old laptop to play music on
November 10, 2011 6:33 AM   Subscribe

Help me use my malware-d laptop as a music storage device with minimal investment.

I have a 4 year old Acer laptop that, despite my best efforts, is a rat's nest of malware. I don't have the Vista boot disks and do not want to spend $250 to buy new OS disks. I'd like to give it a new OS, maybe Ubuntu? although I have no Linux experience, and play songs/Pandora through it to the stereo. I don't want to put it online before I wipe the OS.

I'm not super knowledgable at the OS level but am computer literate, familiar with the concepts that lurk below the application layer, and ace at following instructions. Is this a worthwhile project, even? Has anyone done this successfully? How would you approach?

Music is all on iTunes, all backed up elsewhere.
posted by chesty_a_arthur to Computers & Internet (10 answers total)

Do you have any iTunes music purchases, or is it all "other" sources?
posted by odinsdream at 6:46 AM on November 10, 2011

It's about 50/50 iTunes and Other.
posted by chesty_a_arthur at 7:00 AM on November 10, 2011

Installing Ubuntu is very simple, but I don't think you're going to have an option for playing the iTunes purchases on anything but iTunes, which isn't available on Linux.
posted by odinsdream at 7:31 AM on November 10, 2011

Unless you install a paid OS (windows in this case), you won't be getting your iTunes music back from the store. They don't make clients for free OS's for obvious reasons. As to whether you can backup your existing iTunes songs to external media... that's outside my realm of experience.