Join 3,514 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Soon to be Big 3 if they hire me.
November 4, 2011 1:58 PM   Subscribe

What's it like for a mid-career (35 years old) IT person to suddenly start working at a big 4 consulting firm?

I've been working for over ten years in computer security, which has become very lucrative. My jobs have been with both start-ups and big (~$2B/yr revenue) companies, always as a direct employee.

A former boss needs someone "exactly like me" at his new workplace, but doesn't want to hire me directly for political/non-compete reasons. (I realize noncompetes are often not enforceable, but regardless it would be seen as bridge-burning or poaching and he won't do it.) However, he does a lot of business with 2 of the big 4 consulting firms for IT professional services and, through another former boss now at one of the firms, thinks he could get me hired to work on his account.

I've worked with Big 4 IT consultants frequently in the past; my impression is almost all of them started at their firm (or a competitor or acquired firm) within a year or two out of college. Further, I don't have a degree, which in previous conversations with hiring managers at these firms had been show-stopper.

So, 1) could a pushing client need in an in-demand field overcome my 'defects' and get me hired? 2) What's it like coming into a big 4 firm mid-career instead of right out of college? I'm really not interested in the job if it means I'm never home to see the kids. 3) What would this add or subtract to my future career prospects? Having a big-name firm on the resume can't hurt, right?

Thanks.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (4 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Personally, I would much rather work for the primary than a 3rd party big 4 contractor unless you're planning on getting exposure elsewhere or are comfortable being termed.