Skip

How do I get out of this hole? I dug it myself.
October 29, 2011 10:38 AM   Subscribe

I've screwed things up and it is finally catching up with me. My job situation is not good and my future is looking bleak. I know that it's my own fault. I need to fix it but I have no idea where to start.

I am awful at my job and am surprised that I have not been fired. I'm constantly not following the rules. My job requires attention to detail - I'm making many mistakes.  I'm an admin assistant and have been for 10 years!! These are actual mistakes that I'd been instructed to not make. They wont cost any money but this is a very finicky environment and the details are extremely important. I was not good at my last job as well and can't think of anything that I'm actually good at. Something that I don't struggle with. My communication skills are shitty because I can't remember anything and the words in my head don't sound like the words that come out of my mouth. It seems like if you do something long enough you should eventually become more efficient at it.

There are other issues that I'm dealing with as well. I'm finally in therapy and going to meetings which I believe have helped with my general fog and lack of understanding as to whats been happening in my life. I've been prescribed (generic) ritalin and lamactil and quit coffee since it seemed to make me worse. Previously I've been prescibed antidepressants which didn't work and had side effects that made it difficult to function. I do feel so much better but cant hide from my performance earlier this year.