Join 3,520 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What's wrong with my domain?
October 17, 2011 10:35 AM   Subscribe

My website's domain is not resolving after ≈60 hours. The test link from the hosting service is working fine. The nameservers are correctly assigned over at my registrar. What gives?

OK, I'm new to this whole webmastering thing, and I'm a bit confused. I registered a domain with NameCheap early last week, and signed up for hosting over at LaughingSquid. I went over to NameCheap and set my domain's DNS hosting to the servers indicated by LaughingSquid, NS1.LAUGHINGSQUID.NET and NS2.LAUGHINGSQUID.NET. This was on Friday. It's now Monday, and I can't access my site.

The hosting page that Laughing Squid has for me over at websitesettings.com has a temporary link (a subdomain of websitesettings.com) which works fine and shows the "Hello World" index page. Also, if I do a WHOIS on my domain I get a whois record which lists the laughingsquid DNS servers. Still, I can't access my site through its domain.

I'm not sure what's going on here and I don't know how to proceed. I have a help desk ticket in at LaughingSquid but I figure you guys are likely to respond a heck of a lot faster. If anyone can help, I'd love some advice.
posted by Scientist to Computers & Internet (12 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

If you drop the domain name here it might help. You can do a nslookup here http://network-tools.com/nslook/

That tells you which IP your domain is currently assigned. Take that IP and drop it back into that same tool, see if it gets a laughing squid server.
posted by bitdamaged at 10:42 AM on October 17, 2011

For example I drop bitdamaged.com in there and I get 69.163.250.229, I take that IP number and drop it back in here

And I get xxx.xxx.dreamhost.com where dreamhost is my current host.
posted by bitdamaged at 10:45 AM on October 17, 2011