Join 3,442 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

I need help with my quit-smoking tattoo.
October 14, 2011 10:23 AM   Subscribe

TattooFilter: I'm getting a quit-smoking tattoo and I need help with placement and a font, and maybe a border.

I'm going to get a quit-smoking tattoo. It will be the last four lines of Robert Frost's "Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening" read as overcoming the temptation of a death-wish, or, by a small stretch, of overcoming an addiction:

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

I have no other tattoos. I'm not very good at visual/design things and so I'm asking for help here with a font and also with the tattoo's placement. While the message and the promise are what's really important, I'd like it to be pretty too. A cursive type of font might be nice. Could/should it have some kind of border? And where could it go? My first thought is to put it on my (right) front ribcage, but I don't have much padding there and am afraid it will hurt like hell. Pain is not a huge concern, but excruciating is a bit much. I don't really want it to be visible in an everyday setting. Alternately, it might be nice for it to encircle some body part for the circular=binding symbolism, but which?

Thanks - this is something I'd really like to get right.
posted by kitcat to Grab Bag (28 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

I don't have a tattoo on my ribs, but on my chest. It was probably one of the more painful place. But, I enjoy the feeling of being tattooed, its a whole pleasure/pain thing.

I have multiple friends that have rib tattoos, and bar none they claimed it was the most painful tattoo they had.

In terms of designing it, just make some rough sketches, and find a good tattoo artist. They will make the magic happen.
posted by handbanana at 10:28 AM on October 14, 2011

Your own handwriting, as if it were writing a note to yourself.