Join 3,564 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Beer...now there's a temporary solution.
October 1, 2011 7:02 AM   Subscribe

I love Samuel Adams Noble Pils. I also love New Belgium's Hoptober. These beers are similar in their dinstinct hoppy, but not bitter, quality (I'm not good at describing the nuances of beer, so take that for what it's worth). What other beers would I love?
posted by corn_bread to Food & Drink (23 answers total) 11 users marked this as a favorite

*distinct, not dinstinct

Doh!
posted by corn_bread at 7:03 AM on October 1, 2011

I'm a big fan of the Hoptober. (Not familiar with Sam Adams Noble Pils.) If you get Victory beers where you are, you should try their Prima Pils, which is similarly hoppy but not over-the-top.
posted by nebulawindphone at 7:09 AM on October 1, 2011

I've tried Prima Pils and it definitely is similarly hoppy. I don't love it the way I love Hoptober and Noble Pils though. The flavor seems less...rich(?)...by comparison. Like they just hopped it and maybe didn't add anything else?

Maybe I should learn how to talk about beer and then I can figure out exactly what I am looking for. :)

Anyway, you should try Noble Pils if you like Hoptober. I think you'll love it. It's only available in the Spring.
posted by corn_bread at 7:13 AM on October 1, 2011

Any IPA or pale ale is going to be distinctly hoppy, although they have a little more maltiness than the hoppy pilsners you have been drinking. Sierra Nevada would be a good one to try. It's not overly hopped, and is available everywhere. Then if you like that you can try something like a Dogfish Head 90 minute IPA.
posted by COD at 7:22 AM on October 1, 2011

I agree, Hoptober was a gateway drug to Sierra Nevada, which is God's Own Beer.
posted by mckenney at 7:38 AM on October 1, 2011

I'm not a huge fan of Hoppy beers, but I would recommend signing up for Beer Advocate http://beeradvocate.com/, it's free and those folks love them some beer!