Join 3,439 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How do I take time off before grad school?
September 27, 2011 8:41 PM   Subscribe

What advice can you give to an undergrad working for a few years before applying to grad school? This is in the hard sciences.

I'm currently a senior at a pretty good US university, doing well in my classes and expecting to graduate with a 3.5 gpa. Due to family circumstances, I am planning on taking a job that is not related to my major for the next two years. I think I might still want to apply to grad school (this would be in mathematical physics or applied math, which is what I studied in undergrad) afterwards, and I'm looking for any advice on the following that any knowledgeable mefites would care to give:

- are my chances diminished by not applying immediately after graduating school? I know that for some fields, industry experience is a plus, but I am not sure how true that is for the fields I am interested in. It also probably does not help that my job is in something not remotely related to what I want to study...
- should I apply this year anyways, even though I already know I need to work for the next two years? Would this be a terrible waste of everyone's time?
- is there anything I can do, while working full-time, to better my chances of my application? Take classes at nearby college? I don't know what else to do...

Thanks everyone!
posted by oracle bone to Education (10 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Doctoral program?

Don't take time off.

Talk to your advisors. They'll know best. You're going to need to be memorable to them and their memories might fade in 2 years.

I see this from 2 sides - in my own doctoral program, those that came straight from undergrad often had a 'did I make a good choice' and 'did I waste my 20s' crisis.

While we 'older' people knew what 'the real world' was like. But we also had been out of the student (and poverty) groove.