Join 3,497 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Suggestions for document analysis topics.
September 22, 2011 7:03 PM   Subscribe

Help picking a topic that lends itself to document analysis via XML-based techniques that preferably has to do with Politics or Political Science (more inside)

I'm stumped. I'm trying to come up with a "digital humanities" project and can't seem to come up with anything fitting. Since it's in XML, structure is very important because it lends itself to some automated processes. However, short of poems and plays (which I have no experience or real interest in), I can't think of how to do this.

I'd really like to do something in politics and have considered everything from speech analysis to poll analysis.

Speech analysis requires a bit too much Natural Language Processing though that could work if I had a really interesting and usable topic.

Polling analysis is difficult because the polls are not held in the same time periods so it's hard to know whether the phrasing of the questions or the daily changes in opinion based on current events are the relevant factors in differing results.

I need a fairly moderate to large amount of material from which to draw conclusions based on the premise and document analysis.

Any suggestions?

I'm also open to the idea of looking at aggregate sites like Metafilter, Reddit, etc. but once again, not sure how the structure itself will lend itself to analysis.
posted by Raichle to Technology (10 answers total)

Many documents from the US government are available in XML. For instance, the President's Budget (at whitehouse.gov/omb), the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code (both at www.gpo.gov/fdsys) are available in XML. You could pull all sorts of interesting things out of there, though you'll have to come up with those ideas...
posted by massysett at 7:28 PM on September 22, 2011