Join 3,379 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Internet services in Minneapolis, MN. Thoughts, experiences, suggestions?
September 9, 2011 2:28 PM   Subscribe

Internet services in Minneapolis, MN. Thoughts, experiences, suggestions?

I've just recently moved to Minneapolis, and I am in need of and ISP. All of the previous locations I've lived at had internet included in rent/provided by the landlord, so I'm completely new to this. Does anyone have any recommendations for me? Or perhaps ISPs to stay away from? Or just general ISP experiences to share?
posted by Forerunner343 to Computers & Internet (15 answers total)

I have been very happy with Comcast Business (not consumer!). Cheapish rates, good service. If you look at the Comcast site, they will say your address isn't a business. Ignore it :) If you call them, they will do it.

I have also had Visi for DSL, which was mostly frustrating because it was DSL (nobody makes gear!) and having to deal with Qwest.... erm, CenturyLink... at all.
posted by gregglind at 2:31 PM on September 9, 2011

We have MediaCom. In previous years we had horrible service that required 40+ minute calls to customer service, but we haven't had to do that lately, thank god.
posted by gumtree at 2:40 PM on September 9, 2011

What do you guys know about USIW free wifi?
posted by Forerunner343 at 2:44 PM on September 9, 2011

USI is hit or miss depending on your immediate location. It's fine for small bandwidth needs for many people.

We have a 6Mb cable internet through Earthlink.net. Actually, it's the same as Comcast (billed and serviced through them), but when we signed up, it was cheaper to buy it through Earthlink. It's fine.
posted by advicepig at 2:50 PM on September 9, 2011

USIW isn't free except for in a few scattered areas (and I believe it's 1Mb service there).