Join 3,375 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Today on This Jankety Trailer: Replacing Your Dishwasher
September 6, 2011 1:28 PM   Subscribe

Can you help this complete newbie replace the dishwasher in my broken down old mobile home? The plumbing is, to put it kindly, non-standard, and I'm not sure how to proceed without flooding my dwelling.

There are plenty of instructions online on how to replace/install a dishwasher, but they all seem to assume that you live in a house with normal plumbing. Unfortunately, the plumbing in my ancient trailer doesn't quite resemble what I'm seeing in the instructions.

For one thing, there don't seem to be any valves to shut off water to the dishwasher -- the pipes come up through the floor to a "T" junction that directs water to the kitchen sink (there are valves for this), then directly to the dishwasher, so the only way to stop water flow to the dishwasher is to shut off the water main. As a consequence, once I remove the old water supply hose (which is leaking), I can't turn the water back on to the trailer.

The bigger problem, though, is the inlet hose itself. The way it's currently set up, the (rubber) pipe carrying water into the kitchen is connected to another 3/8" rubber hose that leads into the dishwasher. I haven't had the opportunity to disconnect things to see what's what (see earlier issue with the water main), but it looks like there's some sort of connector or fitting between the two rubber hoses, with a clamp on each end. The replacement inlet hose I have doesn't appear to have any connector that would be compatible with that connection.

Nothing I'm seeing online resembles this configuration, so I'm scared to death of disconnecting the hose, only to find that I can't attach the replacement hose, and end up being unable to turn the water back on.