Copy rows from spreadsheet to fusion tables with a script
August 17, 2011 1:42 AM   Subscribe

How can I programaticaly copy ranges from google docs spreadsheet to a fusion table?

I would like to create an apps script in a google docs spreadsheet that will periodically copy rows from the sheet and insert them into a fusion table. Below I've pasted my best attempt, but it should be noted that I really want it to be posting a 2 column range, not that pair of values. That is just a placeholder.

This link here describes how to talk to fusion tables. I think this is the correct syntax for the POST request.

But I dont understand how to write the script to achieve this. I've messed around with it a bunch and I think I have these problems

-I'm not forming the post request correctly -I'm missing some sort of authentication step.

I am a total newb and what I have so far here is copy pasted below . Also below are a few links that I believe, together, contain the answer, but my understanding is too weak to implement it.

This guy seems to have figured out how to write an app script to send post requests

This seems to be important

these people seem to be doing somthing very similiar, but I cant figure out how to make it work

function deet() {
var advancedArgs = {
method: "post",
payload: "?sql=" + "INSERT INTO 1299801(Text, Number) VALUES ('Blue Shoes', 50)",
headers: {"Authorization": "Basic <base64 encoding of your username:passwd"}};
var response = UrlFetchApp.fetch(

Thanks in advance!
posted by Popcorn to Computers & Internet (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
Your function certainly posts. This example shows how to handle authentication. Other than that, I'd suggest removing the ? from your payload string and checking what response you get using Logger.log(response.getContentText()); or Browser.msgBox(response.getContentText()); or Browser.msgBox(response.getHeaders());
posted by Monsieur Caution at 2:24 AM on August 17, 2011