Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

We'll be together till the end of time.
August 14, 2011 9:39 AM   Subscribe

ISO a simple, inconspicuous backpack.

When I was an undergrad, I bought the perfect book bag at the Gap: a navy-colored, medium-sized sling backpack with a belt buckle release. I've had the bag for 7-8 years now. I use it to carry all sorts of sundries, such as books, gym clothes, a laptop, minor groceries, and so on. But it's starting to wear out, and I want to buy a new one in order to avoid looking like a starving graduate student wherever I go.

There are lots of sling backpacks on (e.g.) Amazon, but I'm very particular and need your personal recommendations. I want the new bag to have the following properties:
  • not a messenger bag
  • dark, plain, inconspicuous color
  • folds flat or expands based on what you stuff inside
  • not a million pockets and compartments; 2-3 is best
  • no slogans, giant logos, crazy "accents," or other affectations
  • fits at least a 14-inch laptop
  • under $100, ideally
Basically, I need a convenient, grown-up looking bag. Thanks for your suggestions.
posted by Nomyte to Shopping (12 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I'm a big fan of L.L. Bean's backpacks. They have a lot of variety from kid's school backpacks to all-leather classic-looking rucksacks. My local hiking shop doesn't carry small packs and I liked that I could order Bean stuff at no risk (and now with no overt shipping fees); their return / satisfaction policy is foolishly generous. You pay a few bucks extra, but I find it worth it; I've ordered shirts, didn't like the collar cut, exchanged them, didn't like the replacement's color, exchanged that one, and ended up with a perfect shirt all while paying nothing extra, no shipping, etc.. I know the exchange cost is baked into the item cost, but damn is it convenient.