What is this scam?
May 30, 2005 3:52 PM
Subscribe
A friend applied for a "work from home" internet-based job, and the reply he recieved sounds sketchy ... Is this a scam? Are they money laundering? Is he going to get screwed somehow by participating in this?
The e-mail he recieved back from the company was as follows (identifying info removed):
Thank you for your resume. Your resume has been reviewed and accepted. Please read the text below.
We are looking for honest and smart people for this position.
Requirements:
-Basic Internet knowledge and access to a computer with internet connection, (e-mail access).
-Western Union in your city.
-Possibility to visit a bank or cashing location any day of the week if needed. It is better if there are cashing
-Adults only.
-Must be able to work without supervision.
-10 to 15 hours per week for communication.
Job description:
You will have to receive and cash payments from our clients (Wire Transfer and interac e-mail money transfers) and send money to our company representative by Western Union.
Your fee is 5-7% of the received sum:
First transaction - 5%.
Next transactions - 7%.
It seems fishy to me, and to him. But I can't quite put my finger on exactly the problem. Is there any way this could be legit?
The e-mail address led us to http://ecurexchange.com which seems like it could be legit (though I'm still a bit skeptical - especially since I couldn't find their supposed Financial Times quote on the Financial Times website anywhere) but for all we know it's a spoofed e-mail address
how would we know?...
Thank you MeFi detectives for your assistance.
posted by raedyn to computers & internet (26 comments total)
1 user marked this as a favorite
1. Probably.
2. Possibly.
3. Definitely.
posted by ori at 3:56 PM on May 30, 2005